The Henry & Hill building was built in 1907 as a social gathering place for the businessmen of the community, offering such diversions as billiards and bowling. In recent years it had been gutted, abandoned and allowed to fall into disrepair, prompting a court order for demolition.
The Port Washington Historical Society purchased the building in 2012 and began restoration in 2013 to create an interpretative hands-on museum that presents history in a way that allows the visitor to experience the past and contemplate the future. An advisory board oversaw the design and encompassing restoration.
The Port Exploreum engages families with dynamic, interactive and changing exhibits while preserving a historically significant building for future generations. The Port Exploreum, represented by a wind rose, acknowledges our maritime past and our need to look to the future.
The Port Exploreum opened April, 2015.
Location: 118 N. Franklin Street
Open daily 10:00-5:00, Closed Tuesdays
Admission: Adults $8, Children $5
Visit the Port Exploreum website at http://www.portexploreum.com/ for more information!
Port Exploreum Staff:
Executive Director: Wayne Chrusciel
Volunteer Coordinator: Haley Pfeuffer
Membership/Event Coordinator: Amy Clark